The current Unitarian Church of All Souls, located on Lexington Avenue on the East Side of the borough of Manhattan in New York City, is the congregation’s fourth sanctuary. The building was designed by Herbert Upjohn and built in 1932 in a Neo-colonial style with a Regency-influenced brick base.
The Grand Light Team worked tirelessly to restore and preserve the original nickel and brass finishes. The cleaning process to preserve the existing finish included three ultra delicate steps:
1) Precision dry/wet soda blasting via a helical H20 gun, rotating the media for optimal control and non-destructive pressure on the metal surface
2) A combination of industrial ultrasonic cleaning tanks with patented high performance generators followed with a delicate hand cleaning process
3) Multiple hand applications of UV resistant clear museum grade metal wax
Additionally, Grand Light artisans sorted, counted, categorized, and cleaned over 1,000 crystal components. Of these components, 14% of the total amount were missing or damaged beyond repair and required custom fabricated Austrian replacement crystal.
Grand Light’s on-site team, working in conjunction with EW Howell Construction Group, carefully transported, assembled, and dressed with crystal and glass shades on the restored chandeliers.
We hope that The Unitarian Church of All Souls’ community, patrons, and guests will enjoy these truly unique fixtures for decades to come!
For more information regarding the restoration of the historic lighting fixtures from the Unitarian Church Of All Souls project, you may review the Historic Lighting Restoration Project Webpage.