The current Unitarian Church of All Souls, the congregation’s fourth sanctuary, was designed by Herbert Upjohn and built in 1932 in a Neo-colonial style with a Regency-influenced brick base.
Grand Light is restoring the historic chandeliers from the Unitarian Church of All Souls renovation project located on Lexington Avenue on the East Side of the borough of Manhattan in New York City.
Our on-site team, working in conjunction with EW Howell Construction Group, carefully removed and transported all fixtures to Grand Light’s Lighting Restoration Factory located in Seymour, Connecticut.
The Grand Light Team worked tirelessly to restore the nickel and brass fixtures. The chandeliers were disassembled, media walnut blasted, ultrasonically and hand cleaned. Multiple application coats of UV resistant protective coating of clear metal wax was applied.
Grand Light artisans sorted, counted, categorized, and cleaned over 1,000 crystal components. Of these components, 14% of the total amount were missing or damaged beyond repair and required custom replacement crystal.
The partially assembled, restored chandelier will be dressed with crystal and glass shades on-site by Grand Light specialists. We hope that The Unitarian Church of All Souls’ community, patrons, and guests will enjoy these truly unique fixtures for decades to come!
For more information regarding the restoration of the historic lighting fixtures from the Unitarian Church Of All Souls project, you may review the Historic Lighting Restoration Project Webpage.